CTET and State TET Maths – LCM and HCF Concepts

LCM stands for Lowest Common Multiple, and HCF stands for Highest Common Factor.

The key to telling the difference between these two things is knowing the difference between a multiple and a factor.

A multiple of an integer (whole number) is any integer that appears in its times table. For example, the multiples of 3 are 3, 6, 9, 12, and so on.

A factor of an integer is any integer that divides the integer with no remainder. For example, the factors of 36 are 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 36.

We use LCM and HCF to compare two (or more) integers. Read More

Study Notes and Questions on NCF 2005 for CTET and TET Exams

The National Curriculum Framework is one of four National Curriculum Frameworks published in 1975, 1988, 2000 and 2005 by the National Council of Educational Research and Training NCERT in India. The document provides the framework for making syllabi, textbooks and teaching practices within the school education programmes in India.

The Five Basic Tenets of the National Curriculum Framework 2005 are:

  1. Connecting knowledge to life outside the school
  2. Ensuring that learning shifts away from rote methods
  3. Enriching the curriculum so that it goes beyond textbooks
  4. Making examinations more flexible and integrating them with classroom life, and
  5. Nurturing an overriding identity informed by caring concerns within the democratic polity of the country.

Read More

How should one prepare for the CTET and state TET exams?

Clearing CTET is now mandatory to get a teaching job in government schools. Now-a-days even leading private schools also prefer CTET qualified teachers for recruitment.

You can prepare well for CTET exam in 3-4 months time. Practice and patience are key, the more you practice with good books as well as previous papers and model papers, the better chances you will have to qualify the exam.

The level of competition of CTET exam is quite tough as lacs of students appear in this exam; with qualification rates of 1% to 14% only.

If you want to clear the CTET exam or other State TET exams with flying colors then these tips will be useful;

Read More

UPTET 2018 Application, Notification, Exam Dates

UPTET 2018 Notification has been released by Uttar Pradesh Basic Education Board (UPBEB) at its website i.e. upbasiceduboard.gov.in. The detailed advertisement for UPTET 2018 has been released on September 18, 2018,

Candidates can apply at UPTET Official WebsiteCandidates from general & OBC category have to pay INR 400, while candidates from SC/ST have to pay INR 200.


  • UPTET Application Form is available from September 18 and end on October 4, 2018.
  • UPTET 2018 is scheduled to be held on November 4, 2018  (November 18, 2018 as per 14th Oct 2018 Notification in offline mode.

Admit Card will be released from 30th Oct 2018.

Read More

Child Development and Pedagogy – LEARNING DISABILITIES


Learning Disabilities is a neurological condition which manifests as the “inability” to listen, speak, read, spell, write and do mathematical calculations.

Learning disabilities can occur in any or all of six areas (listening, speaking, reading, writing, mathematics, and reasoning) indicates that individuals with LD are a diverse group and have a variety of abilities and difficulties. Even people whose learning disabilities are in the same area may exhibit very different behaviours.

LD can occur across the life span (not limited to children). The problems faced by a learning disabled may remain throughout life if remediation is not done. Read More

Child Development and Pedagogy – Four Major Stages of Piaget’s Cognitive Development

Four Major Stages of Piaget’s Cognitive Development

Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive development suggests that children move through four different stages of mental development. His theory focuses not only on understanding how children acquire knowledge, but also on understanding the nature of intelligence.

Important Concepts within Piaget’s Model:

Schemes: Mental model of the world that we use to represent, organize, and interpret our experiences

Assimilation: Integrating new experiences into an existing scheme

Accommodation: Changing or modifying a scheme in order to incorporate a new experience Read More